“Lone Survivor” the Movie

When my husband invited me out to see a movie yesterday, I was hoping to see a good romantic comedy. This was not the case. We had heard from some friends about the movie, Lone Survivor, starring Mark Wahlberg. Hmmm…. The first thing that popped into my mind was, ” definitely a man movie”. It involved lots of fighting and blood. My hubby’s idea of a great movie. I relented,  to spend some couple time together and because I knew it was based on a true story. I am a sucker for true stories.

At first, I was bored I admit. But once the action started, I was mesmerized. Mind you, I hate watching movies that portray so much violence, but this was different because it tells the truth about war. The compassion the village in Afghanistan showed to a man who was to be their enemy was heart-warming. These people showed what true courage really is.  I feel that I am grateful to the service men and women serving our country and protecting our freedom, but this movie made me realize that I choose to not see the horror of what these soldiers experience. My heart breaks every time I hear of soldiers dying and see the pain on their families’ faces.

If you had not had a chance to see it, run don’t walk to the theatre. I believe this is a movie that all youth need to watch with their parents. Click on the link below to see the trailer. Let me know your thoughts if you have a chance to see it.

Now off to watch the Super Bowl!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yoLFk4JK_RM

Leave a Reply

