Our “New” Family Room

Hey all! I am so excited to share our family room! I painted this room when we first moved in almost 10 years ago and have not touched it since. We desperately wanted to remove the carpet and add laminate flooring for the last couple of years but we’ve just never had enough funding. Besides, you know me, I can’t do one thing in a room without completely changing everything else.

Here is a before picture:(In my defense, this is an old picture)

DSCN0332

Here is the after:

20150330_100017

I know, right? I am just beyond the moon with how the transformation came together. Let’s break it down: the paint is the same I am using throughout, Pebble Gray from Glidden. The baseboards are also the same we used in the Formal, Craftsman. I opted to remove the curtains and add window blinds instead. I believe it has really opened up the room and made it feel larger. We used the same laminate flooring as the Formal as well.

Now the crown jewel for the room, that built in bookcase..

DSCN3217 DSCN3216

We totally cheated by using IKEA Billy bookcases! There are, thankfully, a lot of posts and Pins about how others have done the same and I read all of them, ( ok maybe not all but a lot). My wonderful hubby and Ellie did all the work. We used 4 bookcases as our wall was 15′ long and we left room for our flat screen TV.. We will also need to buy or build a console table… That will be in the future as the budget allows. But for now, we are loving the progress so far.

DSCN3277

The bookcases come with bolts to secure them to the wall. We added one long piece of crown molding to give it the look of one piece as well as hide the ugly bolts. My hubby added a piece of MDF to secure the molding between bookcase 2 and 3. We nailed lattice molding to cover the space between the bookcases. We also had to raise them to accommodate the height of baseboards. I wish I would have taken more step-by-step pictures but I didn’t think about it at the moment…

Now as far as styling, I don’t think I will ever be satisfied. All the items I “shopped” in my home. I didn’t realize I had so many but my girls were not at all surprised….:~)

20150330_100017

Sorry for the lack of instructions but please let me know if you have any questions. I will be more than happy to answer them.

Until next time,

Norma xoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

